Sign In

SOCIAL JUSTICE

7219241438_d5965a01c4_b.jpg social_just.JPG
 

Living a life according to the Gospel of Jesus Christ, a life of full faith, is not possible without a commitment to social justice.  Too many people – locally, nationally and globally – are suffering and as Christians, we believe that God has entrusted these people to our care. We cannot ignore the poor and the suffering; social justice is a necessary and vital task for all Christians.

 

But what is social justice?  Is it the same as fundraising?  Definitely not.  Although fundraising may be a means of pursuing or achieving social justice, it is not what social justice is all about.  Social justice is about raising awareness and taking action for change.  Social justice is about making people aware of what is going on in the world we live in and then doing something about it.

 

Many people believe that the pursuit of social justice is not followed as feverishly as it should because we feel powerless; “What can I do to change the whole world?”  Although each individual, as Pope John Paul II told us, is responsible for social justice, we are not asked to achieve this on our own.  We must work together. This is where the Monican community can truly make a difference.

 

There are myriad programs which fall under the banner of SMC’s ministry team that aim to achieve social justice, something to which St Monica’s College is deeply committed.  From the community service programs and Be More groups, to the Masses and environmental awareness programs that run, each student has an opportunity to be involved in social justice.

 

Check out the calendar of events below, that outline many of the social justice events here at St Monica’s College.

 Be More Events: Term 1

Event Date
Year 12 Formation Day Friday February 10
Year 12 Be More Information Session Monday February 13
DRC Be More Information Session Thursday February 16
Meeting of ALL Be More Leaders Friday February 17
World Social Justice Day Mass Friday February 17
World Social Justice Day Library Display Friday February 17
Exodus Information Session Monday February 20
Launch of Year 9 Be More Block Tuesday February 21
DSC Be More Information Session Thursday February 23
Launch of Project Compassion Tuesday February 28
Exemplar Generation Global Videoconference Monday March 6
First Exodus Community Outreach Thursday March 9
First Social Enterprise Lunch (STREAT) Wednesday March 15
Oxfam Trailwalker Fundraiser Dinner Friday March 17
First Volunteer Information Session (GSANZ) Monday March 20
First Generation Global Videoconference Monday March 20
National Youth Week Celebrations Wednesday March 22
Visit to Epping Community Hub Thursday March 23
Second Exodus Community Outreach Thursday March 23
Year 12 Social Justice Leadership Meeting Friday March 24
Launch of Year 10 Be More Block Friday March 24
Second Social Enterprise Lunch Wednesday March 29

 

Be More Events: Term 2

EventDate
Installation of Fashion Revolution Week DisplayFriday April 21
Year 9 Be More Action WeekMonday April 24
Year 9 Fairtrade IncursionWednesday April 26
Generation Global Videoconference (2)Friday April 28
Full School Assembly PresentationMonday May 1
Generation Global Videoconference (3)Thursday May 4
Exodus Community Outreach (4)Thursday May 11
Generation Global Videoconference (4)Friday May 12
Exodus at Year 1o Formation DayMonday May 15
Installation of National Sorry Day Display (SJQ)Wednesday May 17
Year 10 Be More IncursionThursday May 1
Generation Global Videoconference (5)Thursday May 18
Generation Global Videoconference (6)Wednesday May 24
Exodus Community Outreach (3)Thursday May 25
Meeting of all Year 12 Be More LeadersFriday May 26
Dreamtime at the G ExcursionSaturday May 27
Justice Education Student Leadership DayMonday May 29
Launch of 'Leaders of Change' ProgramMonday May 29
Parade College Long WalkThursday June 1
Exodus Community Outreach (4)Thursday June 8
Installation of World Refugee Day DisplayThursday June 15
College Ethos Focus Group Service LearningMonday June 19
Year 11 Be More Immigration ExcursionTuesday June 20
Assisting Good Shepherd ANZ with FundraisingTuesday June 20
Year 11 Be More LaunchWednesday June 21
Board Meeting PresentationThursday June 29
St Monica's College, Epping, acknowledges the traditional owners of the land on which our school is built. For more information, please click here.